Delaware driver testing
Delaware DMV practice tests
Free practice written from the official Delaware handbook, the real test format and pass mark, and every official Delaware manual in one place.
- From official state handbooks
- Every answer cites its page
- Free, no sign-up
Practice tests
Tests we cover in Delaware
- Delaware Permit Practice Test
Class D knowledge test
- Real test
- 32 questions
- To pass
- 26 of 32 correct (81%)
- Practice bank
- 316 questions
- Practice exams
- Real format, fresh draws
Delaware road signs practice: 25 sign questions from your handbook, 10 at a time.
At a glance
Delaware permit test facts
- Questions
- 32 source
- To pass
- 26 of 32 (81%) source
- Road signs
- yes - 'Highway Sign And Signal Test' is a separate part of the four-part exam (signs by shape/color/symbol); separate scoring not stated source
- Minimum permit age
- 16 (GDL Level One Learner's Permit, with DE driver ed certificate) source
- Permit fee
- included in license fee (Class D 8-yr license $50.00) source
- Questions
- 30 source
- To pass
- 24 of 30 correct source
Checked November 4, 2026. Confirm with the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before your test.
Test day
Delaware permit test checklist
Only what the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) publishes, each with its source. Anything the state doesn't say clearly is left out.
Before you go
Documents to bring
Under 18: a Delaware Driver Education Certificate; proof of identity, legal presence, Social Security number (if eligible) and two proofs of Delaware residency (waived if your sponsor is a licensed Delaware driver at the same address); a parent or court-appointed guardian sponsor must come with you
Source for documents to bring (official site), checked November 5, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/forms/driver_serv_forms/pdfs/dr_frm_manual.pdf
Minimum age
16 (GDL Level One Learner's Permit, with DE driver ed certificate)
Source for minimum age (official site), checked November 4, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/forms/driver_serv_forms/pdfs/dr_frm_manual.pdf
Permit fee
included in license fee (Class D 8-yr license $50.00)
Source for permit fee (official site), checked November 4, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/Common/DMVFees/index.shtml
At the test
Questions
32
Source for questions (official site), checked November 4, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/drivers_license/index.shtml?dc=dr_lic_written
To pass
26 of 32 (81%)
Source for to pass (official site), checked November 4, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/drivers_license/index.shtml?dc=dr_lic_written
Road signs
yes - 'Highway Sign And Signal Test' is a separate part of the four-part exam (signs by shape/color/symbol); separate scoring not stated
Source for road signs (official site), checked November 4, 2026 · https://dmv.de.gov/forms/driver_serv_forms/pdfs/dr_frm_manual.pdf
Last checked November 5, 2026. Rules and fees change: confirm with the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before your test.
Official documents
Official Delaware manuals
- Driver handbookDelaware Driver ManualOpen PDFDetails
- Driver handbook (Spanish)Manual del Conductor de Delaware (Spanish)Open PDFDetails
- Motorcycle manualDelaware Motorcycle Operator Manual (MSF Motorcycle Operator Manual, 16th edition, with DE section)Open PDFDetails
- CDL manualCommercial Driver's Manual, Delaware - Version 4.0 (2022 CDL Testing System, modernized)Open PDFDetails