Skip to content
PracticeTestHQ

Colorado driver testing

Colorado DMV practice tests

Free practice written from the official Colorado handbook, the real test format and pass mark, and every official Colorado manual in one place.

  • From official state handbooks
  • Every answer cites its page
  • Free, no sign-up

Practice tests

Tests we cover in Colorado

At a glance

Colorado permit test facts

Time limit
60 minutes (@Home online test); in-office limit not stated source
Languages
English and Spanish (in office and online); other languages only via test-taker-provided verbal translator; ASL interpreter provided source
Where you take it
both: online @Home Driving Knowledge Test (coathometesting.com, webcam, any Colorado resident, proxy adult for under 19), in office, or at a driving school source
Minimum permit age
15 (driver ed 30-hour course required 15 to 15.5; 30-hr or 4-hr awareness 15.5 to 16) (under 16) source
Test fee
Online: first attempt $6.50 ($5 testing + $1.50 card fee), subsequent $6.50 + state retest fee $11.50. In-office first test fee not stated; retest $11.50 source
Permit fee
20.00 (REAL ID instruction permit, includes motorcycle); 23.00 standard (non-REAL ID) permit source
Road signs
no separate signs test stated; single driving knowledge test covers signs source
Time limit
60 minutes (@Home online test); in-office limit not stated source
Minimum permit age
15 (driver ed 30-hour course required 15 to 15.5; 30-hr or 4-hr awareness 15.5 to 16) source

Checked November 4, 2026. Confirm with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before your test.

Official documents

Official Colorado manuals

  • Driver handbookColorado Driver Handbook (DR 2337)Open PDFDetails
  • Driver handbook (Spanish)Manual del Conductor de Colorado (DR 2337SP)Open PDFDetails
  • Motorcycle manualColorado Motorcycle Operator's Handbook (DR 2336) - state handbook, not MSF MOMOpen PDFDetails
  • CDL manualCommercial Driver License Manual - 2023 CDL Testing System (DR 2251, AAMVA-based)Open PDFDetails