Skip to content
PracticeTestHQ home
Find your state

West Virginia driver testing

West Virginia DMV practice tests

Free practice written from the official West Virginia handbook, the real test format and pass mark, and every official West Virginia manual in one place.

  • From official state handbooks
  • Every answer cites its page
  • Free, no sign-up

Practice tests

Tests we cover in West Virginia

West Virginia road signs practice: 13 sign questions from your handbook, 10 at a time.

At a glance

West Virginia permit test facts

Questions
25 (handbook says 'at least 25') source
To pass
19 of 25 (76%) source
Time limit
Timed, but length not stated source
Road signs
No separate test found; signs are part of the knowledge exam source
Where you take it
Both: automated test at DMV offices, or online at home via 'Know To Drive' (third-party vendor; links to k2do-wv.iti4dmv.com) with facial recognition source
Minimum permit age
15 (Level 1 GDL instruction permit) source
Permit fee
0 (Level 1 GDL permit fee $0, plus $7.50 per test attempt); adult Instruction Permit $7.50 source
Test fee
7.50 per attempt source

Checked November 4, 2026. Confirm with the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (WV DOT) before your test.

Test day

West Virginia permit test checklist

Only what the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (WV DOT) publishes, each with its source. Anything the state doesn't say clearly is left out.

Before you go

  • Documents to bring

    Documents proving your identity and Social Security number, any legal name change, and proof of West Virginia residency

    Source for documents to bring (official site), checked November 5, 2026

  • Minimum age

    15 (Level 1 GDL instruction permit) (teen)

    Source for minimum age (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • Permit fee

    $0 (Level 1 GDL permit fee $0, plus $7.50 per test attempt); adult Instruction Permit $7.50 (teen Level 1 / adult)

    Source for permit fee (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • Test fee

    $7.50 per attempt (Level 1 GDL / instruction permit)

    Source for test fee (official site), checked November 4, 2026

At the test

  • Where you take it

    Both: automated test at DMV offices, or online at home via 'Know To Drive' (third-party vendor; links to k2do-wv.iti4dmv.com) with facial recognition

    Source for where you take it (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • Questions

    25 (handbook says 'at least 25')

    Source for questions (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • To pass

    19 of 25 (76%)

    Source for to pass (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • Time limit

    Timed, but length not stated

    Source for time limit (official site), checked November 4, 2026

  • Road signs

    No separate test found; signs are part of the knowledge exam

    Source for road signs (official site), checked November 4, 2026

Last checked November 5, 2026. Rules and fees change: confirm with the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (WV DOT) before your test.

Official documents

Official West Virginia manuals

  • Driver handbookDriver's Licensing Handbook - State of West VirginiaOpen PDFDetails
  • Motorcycle manualWest Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual (MSF Motorcycle Operator Manual, 18th Edition, with three-wheel supplement)Open PDFDetails
  • CDL manualCommercial Driver's License Manual - Complete Laws, Rules and Regulations of the WV DMV and AAMVAOpen PDFDetails