Skip to content
PracticeTestHQ home
Find your state

New Hampshire permit test: parking and backing

Backing, where you may not park, accessible spaces, and angle, perpendicular and parallel parking. 11 questions, 10 at a time, starting with ones you haven't seen.

Study this topic as flashcards

Loading questions…

Sample parking and backing questions

  1. 1.How far must you park from a stop sign, yield sign or traffic signal?

    • AAt least 15 feet
    • BAt least 30 feet
    • CAt least 20 feet
    • DAt least 50 feet
    Show the answer

    ✓ B. At least 30 feet

    Do not park within 30 feet of a stop sign, yield sign or traffic control signal.

    Source: New Hampshire Driver's Manual (unknown), page 34

  2. 2.There is no sign, but you want to park in a highway tunnel to check a noise. Is this allowed?

    • AYes, as long as no sign forbids it
    • BYes, if you stay for under 2 minutes
    • CNo, parking in any highway tunnel is illegal
    • DYes, if your hazard lights are flashing
    Show the answer

    ✓ C. No, parking in any highway tunnel is illegal

    Even without signs, it is illegal to park in any highway tunnel, on any bridge, in an intersection, on a crosswalk or sidewalk, or alongside another parked car.

    Source: New Hampshire Driver's Manual (unknown), page 34

  3. 3.You will leave your car unattended for a few minutes. What does the law require?

    • ATurn on the hazard lights
    • BTurn off the engine and remove the key
    • CLeave it running if you lock it
    • DLeave the key in for emergency use
    Show the answer

    ✓ B. Turn off the engine and remove the key

    The law requires you to turn off the engine and remove the key when leaving a vehicle unattended. You should also lock it.

    Source: New Hampshire Driver's Manual (unknown), page 34

  4. 4.How close to a fire hydrant may you park?

    • ANo closer than 15 feet
    • BNo closer than 5 feet
    • CNo closer than 10 feet
    • DNo closer than 30 feet
    Show the answer

    ✓ A. No closer than 15 feet

    It is illegal to park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, even where no sign is posted.

    Source: New Hampshire Driver's Manual (unknown), page 34